Round 2 brings us across the country from NDOR to Nottingham.
Home of Robin Hood and the Merry men and the new venue in this years series, DEERDALE RC CLUB.

A first visit to this long served club for some drivers to the Astro track. Other's a revisit to a club who most are aware has changed from Dirt to Astro over the years and held some great racing in the past including the famous GRP CHALLENGE of years past. Must admit one of my all time favourite tracks around the U.K.

46 drivers this round.

The usual saturday open practice day was blessed with the good bright sunshine, giving drivers plenty of time to get used to the layout and set ups required for this challenging track. The club has recently had a change of ownership and improvements to the surface and facitilites have already started. So credit to the team for their hard work to date.


The usual 1st full round of timed practice got every one settled in for the day, with a few transponder issues sorted early on and making for a relaxed race director. (Note to self - reduce squelch to 30 next time - double counting loop)

We then cracked on into the 4 rounds of 5min qualifying with best 3 to count towards final positions.

TQ at the end of Qualifying going to
Nitro Buggy - Kieran Cox
Truggy - Alan Yates
E Buggy - Mick Butler


Head of the pack in this 22min final was Mick Kearns Turner, with 3 to bump up into the A Final.
The usual fun start to any final on the first corner, and the early climber was Ian Bousher, moving from 5th to 1st. Although it swappped and changed throughout the race. Further down the pack was where the action and racing really took place with numerous position changes and some great racing and courtesy between the drivers.

At the end of the race Ian Bousher finished on 27 laps, followed by MKT and Mark Milward to bump up.
Apologies to the B Final podium pic as 1st and 2nd buggered off early and missed their photo opportunity.!!


Alan yates had TQ'd the day with some great racing and qualifying, so looked in great shape for the win. But as we all know it's never over until the fat lady sings !! As 5 laps in it went 'Pete Tong' resulting in an early finish with the Tekno electric truggy. So up stepped Clive Maland to the 1st position spot. Close behind, Kyosho driver, Ian Slater chasing his heels for the rest of the final finishing only 1/2 a lap off Clive over the 22min final. Steve Morgan taking the final podium spot 3 laps behind the leaders.


A full heat of 14 x E- Buggies crammed on the rostrum for a fun packed, but quiet, 18min race. From the off Mick Butler, Matt Bridge and Simon Larkin lead the pack and continued all they way through to the end. The real fun and games and proper racing further down the field from 6th to 11th pace, battling all the way through. Some great racing again, and brilliant sportsmanship when in came to passing and overtaking. Credit to them all.


Kieran Cox had TQ'd the rounds and looked in great form all day for the win today.
From the start he was away, but very closely chased by the following pack. Jack Hirst having a stormer from 6th to 2nd and chasing lap after lap matching Keran's lap times. Mick Butler also chasing for the win battling throughout the final with Jack after 12 laps in of the 22min final. All 3 finished on 30 laps and a total of 26 seconds between them all at the end.

Well done to all the winners of the Round 2 and thanks to Deerdale for hosting the event this year. Looking forward to returning in 2019.

Next up - Back up North to PDMCC  in July and the next Astro track in this years NRS 2018 series.